Our Directors

Tiverton Almshouse Trust is a charity (registered number 206984).  It has a single trustee which as a company (registered number 08974595) is called Tiverton Almshouse Trustee Ltd comprising 12 voluntary Directors and 9 staff members. 

The Trust is regulated by the Charity Commission and, as a registered social housing provider, our work is overseen by the regulator of Social Housing.  In addition, the Trust is a member of The Almshouse Association and the Housing Ombudsman service.

There are currently 12 voluntary Directors who are local people, two of which are appointed by Tiverton Town Council:

The Directors are:

  • John Pulford - Chair
  • Brian Berry
  • Michael Biggin
  • David Hamer
  • Diana Hewitt
  • Jan Hutchinson
  • John Rendle
  • Brenda Stanley
  • Roger Stickland
  • Wallace Burke - Appointed by Tiverton Town Council
  • Claudette Harrower - Appointed by Tiverton Town Council

The Directors meet as a board four times a year. In addition there are sub-committees: the Property & Finance Committee meets every two months, the Pastoral Committee meets every six weeks, the Policy Committee and the Recruitment Committee meet as and when necessary.

Directors are recruited through a process that follows the Charity Commission’s best practice guide.  A Director’s term lasts five years (apart from the town councillors who are appointed every four years) and re-appointment can occur subject to an interview and vote.

If you are interested in becoming a volunteer and being involved with the Trust, please contact Doreen Woodward, Chief Executive on 01884 251444.